Teaching children…

I was taking a journey around the blog world and found myself at TextsinContext where I came across this post about a poem you can use to help children (and adults) to learn the 10 commandments. It struck a chord with me.

Above all else love God alone;
Bow down to neither wood nor stone.
God’s name refuse to take in vain;
The Sabbath rest with care maintain.
Respect your parents all your days;
Hold sacred human life always.
Be loyal to your chosen mate;
Steal nothing neither small nor great.
Report, with truth, your neighbour’s deed;
And rid your mind of selfish greed.

How amazing is God’s Word? So deep in it’s truth but so simple that a child can grasp it; we are all His children and indeed, Jesus told us to come to Him like the children:

He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them.  And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

Matthew 18:2-4

So today I am choosing to come back to God as a child and enjoy spending time with God, my father reciting this simple, yet deep, poem.

Leave a comment