Look down in doubt or up in faith: A Poem

During worship at Church we sang a song with the line:

‘You’re never gonna let, never gonna let me down’

And I was struck by how easy it is to doubt this truth and how we have to actively remind ourself that it is true regardless of circumstance.

As I was mulling this over I wrote a reverse poem… when read from top to bottom it shows the negativity of doubt and when read from bottom to top it shows the truth of faith.

It’s called:

Look down in doubt, or up in faith

You will never let me down

I once heard said yet again

I remain broken

In your glory

I can no longer believe that

You hear me

When you are silent

To believe you love me

When I am against all these obstacles

Difficult and trying

It isn’t

The truth; that you are there

I am alone

How foolish to believe that

You love me.

Leave a comment